Meditation Verses 1 John 2:17 & 2:25

02/09/2017 21:07
Meditation  
      
Scriptures.  And this is the promise that he hath promised us, even eternal life. 1 John 2:25 KJV
 
And the world passeth away, and the lust thereof: but he that doeth the will of God abideth forever.  1 John 2:17  KJV
 
Forever, eternal life, these words should be given a lot of thought. 
 
Instead most of us do not give it any thought, due to the hard work put in by God's enemy, the father of lies. 
 
Evil's strategy is to delude us into thinking that this life is all there is, or for those who can't believe that, there is the lure of reincarnation for souls of this earth, another lie.
 
God's word states that it is appointed for man to die once and that there is a "forever" after we die.
 
I think we should be very concerned about the "forever". 
 
Where will I be or where will I go after I die?
 
Forever is a long time!  
 
I used two scriptures for today because one speaks of eternal life and one shows us how to attain it.
 
I believe in God, therefore I believe there is a "forever after". 
 
And this is the promise that he hath promised us, even eternal life. 1 John 2:25 KJV
 
Now, how to enter into  eternal life? 
 
God speaks plainly - by doing His Will.
 
What is His Will?
 
⦁  Accepting Jesus as our Lord and Saviour, and repenting of our sins.
⦁ Setting out on the Christian "walk" through life, trusting in Him to renew our mind and grow us spiritually.
 Listening to the promptings of the Holy Spirit to do good works through testimony, ministering to others needs, and developing the fruits of the Spirit in ourselves.
 
And the world passeth away, and the lust thereof: but he that doeth the will of God abideth forever.  1 John 2:17  KJV
 
Prayer
Lord, thank You for offering eternal life with You.  Help me to recognize and repent of sin in my life.  I ask the Holy Spirit to come into my life and show me how to be the Christian who does the Will of God. In Jesus' Name. Amen.