There was a time...

07/17/2014 13:58

There was a time decades ago when I fell away from Christian living.  Many factors were the cause of this but the root cause was I wanted to fit in with others who were not at that time Christian.

It was the 1960's and the Beatles and Rolling Stones were spouting their new way of thinking.  It appealed to my new wonder about the world.  Soon I was drawn to Bob Dylan and the lyrics to his music, especially the ones referring to his born again experience, and my faith was revived briefly.  Thank you Bob! This Jesus music kept me on track during those early years of spiritual growth. 

Someone (Dylan) from the new generation of mainstream was warning me to stay within the umbrella of God's Love and not venture out into the realm of free love and experimentation with all kinds of, to many at that time, new and exciting thinking.

Actually it was all just rehashed esoteric beliefs and religions made to look new and profound by the workers of evil who did not even know they were being used for that purpose.

But, I did go down some of those paths to investigate.  Always, I kept one foot outside that particular door as I read up on the new age thinking.  I became quite good at discerning the ungodly thinking and where it emanated from. Evil - in a new disguise.

Sadly, many from those days are not with us because they took things too far and were caught in the web.

God's Word tells us there is one Way, not many.

Years would go by before I fully committed and was born again and even though I know that those years of  playing around with the new age lifestyle were wrong, I am glad the Lord was with me through them to enlighten my mind when I questioned what seemed to be fair and right but in fact was not in line with God's thinking.

His ways are higher than mine and I finally admitted it.

How good is God, that even though we are involved in some religion or thought pattern that has nothing to do with His Way, He will, when we stop and turn to Him reveal Himself to us in a Way that we understand.  He will gently draw us to Him at the pace He knows is for each of us.

There is never a need to end it all or say I don't have a chance to be a child of God, or I'm caught in this and can't get out.  He will make a Way, if you will pay attention and discipline the flesh.

Jesus said in Matthew 26:41 Watch and pray, that ye enter not into temptation; the spirit is indeed willing, but the flesh is weak.

Maybe it is minute to minute you have to discipline your mind, but do it.  Accept Jesus as Saviour and He will help you to overcome. Your reward will be great in heaven.

God bless you, and pray, pray, pray!