Contentment

03/02/2017 22:21

Friend, to be content in your spiritual walk is to be not moving forward.

Many believers have a steady walk through the pilgrim's journey and then things happen in their flesh lives, that grab evry spare minute until the spiritual progress begins to slow, and one day we look back and see that yes, God's hand has been at work and things have been going in our favour and yes, we are content.

This state is a very serious one that is not doing us any favours.

In the state of contentment, we grow idle in our worship and prayer time. We begin to lose touch with the fire that burned for our Lord within us. we say, "Well, I am born again and have done this and that, and I love the Lord, so I'll have to stay in the contentment state for a while and when the kids are grown or when I get that raise or when I don't have to put so much time into my worldly life, I will just pick up where I left off and reconnect with Jesus and all will be well."

But, friend, during this contentment phase we linger in, we are what Jesus calls, lukewarm in our love and committment to Him. He does not like this state because it is easy for the evil one to come in and convince us, lure us away from Jesus.

Maybe even, our time will be called and we will not be in right standiing with our Lord. He urges us to be in the firey zone, not the cold or lukewarm zone in our love and commitment to Him.

The First Commandment He gave is

You shall love thy God with all thy heart and with all thy soul, and with all thy strength and with all thy mind.  Luke 10:27

Loving God withour heart, soul, strength and mind; these are important to God.

Friend, to bring yourself into the firey zone from languishing in the contentment zone, it is important to begin to desire to live in His Will and to know His Law so you can easily obey His Will for you.

Some peoople say, "I believe in God, but in these few areas, I cannot agree with Him.

For instance the love of parents for their children even when the children are not walking the Righteous path. To try to cajole God into acepting sinful behaviour for your child, and allow you to change the Law to suit your newfound beliefs because of your child's sinful behaviour and choices, is to lose your salvation.

Revelaion 3:I 6 I know you well, you are neither hot or cold. I wish you were one or the other. But since you are merely lukewarm, I will pit you out of My mouth. ( reject you.)