Meditation, Teaching, Prayer for today

01/10/2015 13:19


Meditation for today

Scripture. 

Stand fast therefore in the liberty wherewith Christ hath made us free, and be not entangled again with the yoke of bondage. 

Galatians 5:1 KJV


Encouraging words from the apostle Paul who fully understood the difference between living under the Law of Moses and receiving the Grace of living under the Mercy of God through the blood shed by Jesus and His Resurrection.

In this short sentence Paul sums up that we are saved by the grace of God through faith in Christ. 

Nothing else gives us the freedom which is ours, as when we believe that God the Father sent His only Son from the Kingdom of Heaven to the earth, to be born and experience all sorrow and humiliation, to be despised and mocked, to be killed to pay for the sin of the world, and then to be resurrected to stand again and take His place at the right hand of God once again, as God the Son.

For our Lord and Saviour to do this for us is amazing.  God could have said, "They are not worth it. I won't have a son of mine tortured for their unrighteousness" and blinked an eye, annihilated the earth and everything on it, and just moved  on.

But, God chose to make a Way for us even while we were lost in our sin infected world.

Therefore, should we not "Stand fast in the liberty where Christ has made us free"?  It is the least we can do.

Prayer

Lord, thank you for your Sacrifice on the Cross for my sin.  I understand I could never make myself clean by obeying God's Law given to Moses.  Help me now, to actively seek to not  be entangled in continuing sin in my life, so that I may honour your commitment to me. Amen.