Psalm 4:4 Meditation Verse

12/22/2014 09:32

Meditation       

Scripture verse for today.

Stand in awe, and sin not, commune with your own heart upon your bed, and be still.        Psalm 4: 4  KJV

When I  take my eyes off all the busyness of daily living, the chores, the duties, the goals, the obligations, the worries, the tragedies, I could go on and on - I stop, stand and see the magnificence of who God is.

Man plants a tiny seed and soon we have vegetables, herbs, and life giving edible foods!

Consider a blade of grass that springs forth from the earth as fodder for animals, the flowers and trees, the animals, the oceans, the stars and universes and then, the human being.  I hope you, like me, stand in awe of all He has wrought!  It is magnificent and unfathomable.

Originally created without sin, this world was perfect. But sin entered in to take us captive and sadly, not only us, but the whole world and everything in it.

All we have is God's Word and the beauty of His Creation to remind us of who He is. We cannot see Him as Adam did.  Evil has power over this world now. We will always struggle against it, or join it.

This scripture is an important one because it tells us what to do to come to the full realization of who God is.  In creation we see the workings of a Good God who has allowed sin, in His own infinite wisdom, to mar our world. 

When we lay still and commune (with Him) on our bed, we will see a God who is awesome.  There is no other like Him.

Prayer

Lord, meet me as I lay on my bed and show me your Greatness, unveil the grandeur of creation that I have taken for granted, layer by layer until I have an understanding of Your Goodness. Amen