Hebrews 7:25

01/22/2015 21:23

Meditation     

Scripture verse for today

Wherefore He is able also to save them to the uttermost that come unto God by Him, seeing He ever liveth to make intercession for them. 

Hebrews 7:25  KJV


The two points in this verse are at the apex of a believer's core beliefs.  Jesus is able to save to the uttermost, and He makes intercession for us to the Father.

He saves us to the uttermost.  Meaning there is no doubt, there is nothing left for us to do to be saved, it is complete.

We should not mock God and assume we can continually and habitually engage in sinful behaviour.   

Once we are saved the Holy Spirit works tirelessly with us to begin to grow in Christ - to become more like Jesus, so that our lives are pleasing to Him.  At the judgement, we want Him to acknowledge us.  We will not be happy to hear Him say to us, "I did not know you."

Sin is forgiveable, we should repent when the Spirit convicts us, and turn from it.  This is all that is required.  Jesus says it is an easy yoke that He puts on us and so it is, if all we have to do is say with conviction, "Forgive me, Lord Jesus".

Prayer

Lord, thank You for Salvation and intercession.  Help me to understand that I should learn about You, to know what is right and wrong in Your kingdom.  Guide me I pray into Your Word and renew my mind.  Amen.